Had a Peel done on Friday!

Have to thank Tina for this one…she spotted a Specialicious deal — $39 for a facial or a peel at a local salon (Eternal Med Spa in Lorton, VA)…side note, she is friends with the owner and it’s a new place…I assumed that the peel would be one of those ‘add-on’ services like at a regular spa…but *jumpy claps* NO! It was a full medical grade peel! *squeals*  The retail value on it was $165!  How Frugal am I??!!

I opted for the SkinMedica Vitalize Peel.  They offer 3 levels – the Illuminize which is more superifical (hehe) one and the Vitalize is the middle one and the Rejuvenize is their deepest peel.

Vitalize Peel helps fight the effects of time, sun damage, and environmental assaults. This powerful yet non-damaging peel can take years off aging skin.

  • Addresses various skin conditions, such as pigmentation abnormalities, post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, melasma, and photodamage
  • Effective (achieve visible improvement after one treatment, significant results after a series of treatments)
  • Can be customized for the treatment of each specific condition
  • May be performed on Skin types I- VI
  • Little or no or down time
  • Peeling solution combined with Retinoic acid creates more exfoliation than other chemical peels same depth
  • Well tolerated (minimum or no burning, peeling solution has pH 2-3, higher than most chemical peels)
  • Easy to use (does not require timing or neutralization)

Click here for some FAQs about the peel.

The process is quick. Lauren, the lovely smooth skinned and very frank esthetician, did a quick cleansing of my skin and then it was time to slather me with acid! First, she wiped my face with alcohol (to make sure there was no more oil on the skin) and then it was acid time! It’s so simple it seems like I could do this myself (dear God, get this idea OUT of my head please! lol) Anyway, she made about 3-4 passes over my skin with the acid soaked pad. She watched my skin closely for something she called ‘frosting’ which is apparently bad! It tingled a bit, then just stung, and then got warm…very warm. Not unbearable but it’s like okay, done yet? lol  The last step is a retinol. This made my skin a lovely shade of yellow. The tanorexic in me liked the tan look it gave me! She put some deep moisturizer on me and gave me some in a tub for home use and I was done!

There was no redness or burning or any kind of discomfort afterwards. My skin looked glowy and quite pleasantly tight. Like how it feels when I used to get a sunburn. Sort of like my skin shrunk a bit, kwim? (which I wish it would!) On Saturday, no changes, no sign that I had done anything.  Today, there’s some peely skin on my chin and cheeks…here’s a photo, not sure how it will come out…I am able to cover the flakes with the moisturizer she gave me…

Just some flakes...my skin is red b/c I'm Irish 😉

So, we’ll see how tomorrow looks. Hopefully not too scary!  Lauren did the level 3 Rejuvenize peel 7 days before I saw her and her skin looked AMAZING!  She did recommend an IPL treatment to me (KBB, you love that, right?) and she showed me before and after shots of herself…good-bye brown spots. I am totally going to do that next Fall! (consider yourself warned, Senor Frug!)

I left there thinking that I should get a job at one of these Med Spas and guinea pig myself to death! *giggles* And I would make one hell of an esthetician (just ask poor 12!)!!  I would have clients leaving in tears BUT with squeaky clean skin 😉

One thought on “Had a Peel done on Friday!

Leave a Reply

