A Girl’s Gotta Have Goals

Growing older is filled with little insults…the graying hair, the wrinkles, the stubborn fat in odd places, metabolism crawling at a snail’s pace, etc. etc….*sighs*  As you’ve probably gathered by now, I am not going down without a fight!  Battling all those things daily…

Anyway, in addition to the above horrors, I recently noticed ONE MORE THING. *growls*  My flexibility!!  Those who’ve know me for years know that I’ve always been bendy…and maybe a little bit smug about it? Maybe just a little? *smiles sadly*  Well, about a month ago, I noticed it.  I was in 9’s room, sitting on the floor, pretending to listening to his endless prayers (gee, thanks OCD!)…did a few sit-ups and then thought ‘hey, I’ll do a split‘ (I know, I know…I’m a strange one)…and I couldn’t do it. I was at least 5 inches above the floor!  I couldn’t believe it!!  I’ve always been able to do a split!  I even remember doing one when I was pregnant with 9! (not  a pretty image, is it? Sorry! lol)

I had visions of being a creaky inflexible old lady …and that, along with ALL the other crap, was too much to bear!  Decided to stretch…daily…I think it’s supposed to be part of the everyday workout but, like most people, I usually skip it.  I was shocked at how much flexibility I’d lost over the years. I used to be able to do the stretch where your legs are out in a V and I could lay my body completely flat on the ground.  Yes, I was smug, I see that now. *sighs*

Anyway, I am happy to report (perhaps smugly) that today, I did a split!  Woot! *throws confetti* Finished up my workout with my new stretching routine and thought “what the hell?” and tried it — the old men in the mats area looked on in horror! lol So, SUCCESS!  I held the split for at least .0000005 seconds! 😉

This Old Lady is my idol now :

This entry was posted on January 25, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment

One thought on “A Girl’s Gotta Have Goals

Leave a Reply

